NEW ADVENTURES & VENTURES

As I blow the cobwebs off this blog, I’m not sure where to begin. The last few months have been beyond hectic. Though let me begin first and most importantly with an apology. I apologies, that is has taken far too long for me to get back here. But, here I am back, all shiny and new and bursting with exciting updates.

The last few months in Magpie HQ has seen me attending London Fashion Week and the jewellery mecca of events International Jewellery London, working across photo shoots and discovering new designers and collections both on and off the jewellery playing field.

IMG_5778

Pieces from Ros Millar’s new Fortress collection which launched at IJL2014

As you know I love styling and I always jump at the chance to dip my toe into that pool whenever the opportunity arises.  So when my friend designer Akosua Afriyie-Kumi of A.A.K.S needed some assistance showcasing her designs on the catwalk of Africa Utopia an event hosted by the London Southbank Centre I was there with bells on.

camera action

Lights, Camera, Action at Africa Utopia show at the Southbank centre

runway 2

runway 1

Keep your eyes peeled for an exciting collaboration I will be working on with A.A.K.S. featuring their line of handwoven bags.

Just a few weeks ago my latest foray into the world of styling saw me pulling the jewellery looks for the lookbook of sports chic ethical label Yemzi.  We battled a blustery rainy London day but the results were stunning.   Here is a sneak peek look at the shoot. & of course I’ll share the full look book with you once it is ready.

IMG_1190IMG_1192

IMG_1218

In Detail: The Charlotte Valkeniers Bar Ring

But the most exciting news of all and the one that has prompted the name change of this space – the eagled eyed amongst you may have spotted that this blog is now entitled “The Journal of a Magpie on the Run”, is that my dreams and plans have finally materialised and I am proud to announce I have launched my own jewellery e-boutique.

Where did that come from I hear you cry.  Well it’s something I’ve dreamed about doing for many years now but it wasn’t until the extended vacay last year I decided to really put this dream into action.  Forgive me for not sharing the news with you all sooner.  It’s because even whilst I was meeting designers and building the website I never really believed it was happening and then it did I and I couldn’t be happier.

You can find the store over on  MagpieontheRun.com and in my next post I’ll give you the grand tour.

IMG_1092

You  will still be able to enjoy (she hopes) my random ramblings and photo diaries here on the blog, it’s just I might be back more on a monthly basis until I get into the rhythm of juggling the e-boutique and the day job.  Mmm I might have to change my name from Magpie on the Run to Magpie on the Sprint as something tells me I’m not going to know what has hit me, but I cant wait.  & I hope you’ll all continue on this journey with me.

sign off vertwo

 

 

Follow me on twitter @shimmyingshoes or Instagram on @MagpieontheRun for live updates on Magpie adventures.

