COCKPIT ARTS SUMMER OPEN STUDIOS PART 1

Cockpit Arts Holborn is hands down one of my favourite studios in London.  Bursting with talent and diversity, I always leave their open studio events in a a fully satisfied jewel daze. On Friday afternoon I got to catch up with the jewellers of Cocckpit Arts; lets kick things off with the striking jewels of Mariko Sumioka,  who you may recall I first met at last years Goldsmith’s Fair.

msAs a way to amplify the enjoyment that one can take from jewellery, Sumioka has place her work in a traditional artistic arena and created wall hangings which feature her original sketches and jewellery pieces.  Mariko’s Japanese inspired pieces can either be admired hanging on your wall or you can literally pluck a piece out of it’s frame for it to be admired on the canvas of your body.  If there was any doubt in  your mind that jewellery was wearable art then Mariko’s new creations will stop that doubt right in it’s tracks.

IMG_9040

IMG_9048IMG_9060IMG_9070IMG_9046IMG_9052

maudA spectacular  combustion of colour, pattern and texture  Maud Traon’s jewellery is a feast for the eyes …

IMG_8959IMG_8978IMG_8979IMG_8986IMG_8976

rosIt’s  always a pleasure catching up with the lovely Ros Millar an Irish jeweller with Galactic statement jewels. With a new collection imminent I did my very best to get a sneak peek for you, but Ms Millar was keeping her sparkly secrets locked up in her treasure chest.  Though there was a hint in that last sentence for you.  Ros did tell me with a coy smile that the new collection will sparkle, fore it will  be all  about the  gemstones.  Intrigued? Excited?  I certainly am, I’ll let you know as soon as the new collection is released, but in the meantime let me remind you why Ros is a Magpie favourite.

IMG_9071IMG_9088IMG_9081IMG_9081IMG_9078IMG_9077

The doors of Cockpit Arts Holborn will be open until 18:00 on Sun 8th June so you can go down and check out these amazing jewellers for yourself and nab your self some discounted goodies.

In my next post I’ll be catching up with jewellers; Lenique Louis,  Annabelle Lucilla, Clara Breen and the queen of rocks Sanni Falkenberg.

 

