LFW AW14: THE TOPSHOP UNIQUE SHOW

So as you know I had the honour of covering the Topshop Unique show for South African style bible; A Fashion Friend.  Here’s is my account of the show …

catwalk 4  156 com

Image: Fashion156.com

No label epitomises British style like Topshop, and for their AW14 collection Topshop Unique was all about celebrating the English heritage and all the British female swagger that runs alongside it.  From the rebellious tomboy to the whimsical day dreamer all forms of Woman were present on the catwalk.

monochromeIn the monochromatic crowd bloggers and press alike gathered along with the elite ‘frow’ which included Topshop Top dog Sir Philip Green, British style icon and Topshop alumni designer Kate Moss and smizing Kendall Jenner who was seated next to the creme dela creme of fashion,  the resident first lady of style Anna Wintour.  Who arrived in the chicest red, black & white printed coat which was illuminated by the flash of the paparazzi cameras as she glided past us mere mortals in the que for the show.

The atmosphere in the iconic Turbine Hall of the Tate Modern was eletric, filled with the excitement of the audience.  Who if they were anything like me were excited from the second their invitation arrived in their hands to the moment they slipped on their Topshop “show” clothes.  For the show I debut my new ‘Kandy’ shoe boots, with triple leather buckles which inject some ‘edge’ into the sweet pastel pink booties.

Anyways,  moving on from my look for the show which for the record was a black & white checkered ensemble broken up with Topshop pastels and some Magpie Swag jewellery, let me me tell you about the collection.

Magpie on the Run

magpie swag

L: R – Ona Chan, Maejean Vintage, Hatski of London, Pip Jolley

 Which burst on to the runway in a sea of blue mohair coats and chunky woolen knits paired with pencil skirts which had peekaboo lace layers emerging from the hemline.

catwalk 2 blue mohair coat styloko

Image: Styloko

From the silk puffa jackets, to the butterscotch golden voluminous sleeved dresscoats to the opulent furs the Topshop Unique AW14 collection had the audience well and truly whipped up into a frenzy.  With the models taking their final strut to the sounds of Beyonce’s ‘Run the World’ I found myself wanting to skip Spring and Summer altogether just so I could wear the AW14 collection.  & given how hideous the British winter is you know the collection must be that damn HOT if I would pass up the sun to wear it.

Post show the fashion delights did not stop there.  As guests mingled and posed up against the Topshop branded wall,  models showcased the designs of Newgen designer Ryan Lo.  Who summed our inner Daisy Duke with his Cowgirl collection, modernised with colour blocking neons and quilted metallics.

Newgen Ryan Lo

Romantic Ruffles

My lusts from the Lo collection had to be the sorbet yellow fringed jumper and the monochrome morning jacket so chic, so Chanel-esque.
Smize
 As I swung my Topshop commemorative tote over my shoulder only one word was swimming around my head… EPIC. From seeing the swish of Anna Wintour’s bob LIVE, sumptuous forest green detailing on the winter coats, to the embellishments adorning the lace –  The Topshop Unique AW14 collection was purely epic.
Thanks so much to AFF for letting me be your Magpie eyes on the ground!
Head over to the Birds on the Street page to check out some jewel street action from the show.
sign off vertwo
This piece was originally written for A Fashion Friend.
