LFW AW14 PART 2: THE WOLF & BADGER NEW DESIGNERS SHOWCASE

The Wolf & Badger New Designers showcase was hands down my favourite Fashion Week event. Yep, it even surpassed the Topshop Unique show, and the momentous occasion of witnessing 1st hand the swish of Anna Wintour bob. Sorry Ms Wintour but you have been upstage by a Wolf & a Badger.

Held at the iconic Savoy hotel, the event epitomised the brand. It was everything you expect of Wolf &Badger;effortless cool and an ahead of the curve  selection of designers. The room was reaped in talent, bringing together jewellery designers such as Tessa Metcalfe, Ona Chan and Lestie Lee.

Before I dive into the world of jewels I  just want to introduce you to, two non jewellery brands I discovered. Now as you know I don’t go off book for just anyone so  you know they are pretty special.

& actually both companies do borrow from the adornment tree.  The first of which is shoe label Cleo B. Whose shoes shimmy and shine c/o of the detachable shoe clips which you can slip on and off as the occasion calls.

cleo  I spied Cleo B intern Dayo rocking her Tape shoe clip as an pendant .. loves it, two wears in one.

My other non jewellery love at the event goes out to handbag label Zashadu.  Their range of luxurious leather handbags featuring crystal details from Nigeria would have you selling your soul to the devil to get your hands on one, and trust me it would be totally worth it.

IMG_6305

Ok on to the jewels, beginning with a designer whose stacking rings are rarely off my pinkie,  Ona Chan.

ona

Ona Chan first appeared on my radar when I won one of her pieces in a giveaway.  Though giveaway or no giveaway because of  her enthralling design aesthetic Chan was alway destined to feature in my jewellery box.

I fell in love with piece after piece from Chan’s latest collection entitled ‘Lattice’ which was inspired by her trip  along the ‘Tea Horse Trail’ in Lijiang, China and the  lattice structured window in the ancient town .  Front runners in the collection for me had to be the cat’s eyes cocktail rings, I fricking loved the ice cream sorbet colours & the bad ass python wrap around bracelets with lattice buckles,

IMG_6405IMG_6410IMG_6411IMG_6409

sheIt’s all in the eyes over at SheBee Jewelry a New York label which  combines my love of the bedazzle and skulls. With Swarovski crystals for eyes She Bee reminds us of the true positive connotations of the skulls. Exemplified further by their Mexican flower collection inspired by the ‘Day of the Dead’

IMG_6376 (1)

IMG_2584The SheeBee colour popping skulls are MUST  for your summer Arm Parties and Necklaces layers.  Actually scrap that why wait until  summer ( I couldn’t see, my new electric pink skulls below)  wear them now and inject some sparkle, neon and fun into your layers.

IMG_6377

IMG_2607

eye Central St Martin’s graduate Leona Songhee Lee’s  label  Elyona is inspired by modern day romanticism.  When reviewing  her collection I found myself being quickly seduced by the crystal encrusted textures and spikes.

IMG_2577IMG_6292bracIMG_6288

leePaying homage to a girl’s best friend  designer Lestie Lee showcases the architectural nature of the diamond in her fine jewellery collections.Elegant, sleek and enchanting Lee’s jewellery should become that of a diamond – a girl’s best friend.

IMG_6340IMG_6343IMG_6334

tessaThe word ‘Pigeon’ is not one that evokes beauty, until the pigeon in question has received the Midas touch of jeweller Tessa Metcalfe. Through the combination of taxidermy and casting Metcalfe produces a series of dazzling pigeons claws and feet clutching an array of alluring gemstones.

IMG_6381IMG_6388IMG_6387The latest hero piece is Metcalfe’s collection was this stop you in your tracks necklace featuring a gold snow crystal Make some space in your wishlist for this number.

IMG_6385

What do you guys think about latest additions to the Wolf & Badger team? Whose jewels stole your heart? Let me know in the comments box below.

sign off vertwo

Oh and make sure you check out the ‘Birds on the Streets‘ page featuring some of the Jewel Street pictures I took at the W&B event, there were some jeweltastic ensembles out to play.

 

