IJL 2013: MY FAVOURITE GEMS

The IJL was amazing, the design talent in the arena blew my mind.  It was so difficult to narrow down my favourite gems to just 4 designers but here they are. Beginning with another Kickstarter;  Amanda Gerbasi and her label Kattri.

katt

‘ Cool’. That’s how you feel when you slip on a ring from Kattri.  Crazy sexy cool and fresh.

IMG_9235

The silhouette of each piece from Kattri is clean, sharp and contemporary.  & the Brazilian jewels set in each item sparkle magnificently.

IMG_8965-600x600

Image: Kattri

970409_691021720925473_528455535_n

Image: Kattri

IMG_9234

claire

I meet gem that is Claire English on my final morning of IJL. Her stand had caught my eye over the course of the week,  but it wasn’t until that morning I was drawn to go over. At first I thought it was because of the amazing flower bonnet she was wearing & then when the first piece she told me about was her magpie claw ring I realised, the magpie in me had heard call of the magpie in her .

IMG_9699

& so off we went, two Magpie’s in flight on a a journey through her collection of (and I quote;) “ordinary and insignificant things transformed into special pieces of jewellery”.  Such as the Matchstick collection and the pieces inspired by a bird ‘s skull.

claire 3

IMG_9705

IMG_9703

After the Magpie ring my next favourite item from Claire’s collection would have to been this 24K Yellow Gold Vermeil Bubble necklace. Which  much to my delight actually works!

claire 1

tina

IMG_9265

I haven’t been able to get this double arrow necklace out of my head since I saw it.  I’m sure you have seen pictures of this treasure popping up all over the blog.   Though, its probably about time I introduced you to the rest of the Tina Lilienthal Jewellery range.  Which features more bejewelled statement arrows in the ‘Pow Wow’ collection and orbing planets in the ‘Astral’ collection.

tina  l

IMG_9271

IMG_9279

IMG_9269

bugI love how the Bug range moves from playful, to surreal to structured. For her IJL debut Ellie Ingram or head bug as she is known to you and I brought with her 3 collections;   La La Land which features borrower sized tea cups and saucers. Tiny  appliances.  & Ellie definitely  puts the the “petit” in Le Petit Dejeunewith the mini toast and toaster necklaces and rings.

IMG_9306

IMG_9316

IMG_9313

If you’re a songbird you’ll love the ‘La Discotheque’ collection which celebrates Ingram’s passion for music.

IMG_9283

IMG_9280

Featuring caged rings, oxidised metals and boho belly chains and headpieces. Bug’s ‘Chained’ collection was one of my favorite collections from the entire IJL.    The Le Lac Armour ring is a sheer work of art.  It goes with out saying that it has been added to my wish list.

chained

