THE AFRICAN MARKET @ OLD SPITALFIELDS

On the 4th Saturday of every month Open the Gate Org. now hosts The African market at Old Spitalfields Market in East London.  The market is a showcase of African influenced and inspired designs.  Some of which have been made in the motherland.

tribal

While I have been exploring Afrofusion jewellery I’ve been on the look out for a label which ignites my ring fetish and finally I’ve found one.   Cue Triballery.

IMG_8945

IMG_8954

Triballery also carry a range of necklaces , cuffs and as you’ll see below,  inventive creations such as a pair of earrings which elongate into a necklace.

IMG_8950 IMG_8949 IMG_8942 IMG_8946

aykia If you are after vibrant earrings with an African flair then you’ll find them at Ayikai Couture.  Carrying a range of fabric and beaded earrings from small and demure to large and loud.

IMG_9038

IMG_9026

IMG_9030

empress

Made in Gambia these wooden bangles are exactly what you need to create an statement army party.  I couldn’t resist purchasing one of the overside carved bangles; as I love the tribal feel they have.   Pictures soon of how I’ll be styling up them up.

IMG_9053

IMG_9086

Lara of Empress Lounge showing us how to throw an Arm Party

IMG_9089

IMG_9088

One for the Guys.

IMG_9083

For news of where the Empress Lounge will be next check out their Facebook Page.

queen caz

Queen Caz  and her unique African Bouquet earrings have been causing a storm since I featured them in my first WP photo challenge this week.  Time for you all to see more of the bouquets and the rest of Caz’s range.  Caz’s also get my vote my crown jewels of the market.

IMG_9011

IMG_9017

IMG_9023

IMG_9015

IMG_9012

IMG_9007

open the gate

I just wanted to give a shout out to Open the Gate’s accessories label which carries items such as shoe laces, snoods and Bum-bags.  All of which have been injected with African flavour and flair. I can’t  tell you how much I’m loving the new lease of life these laces have given my wedge trainers. op