VINTAGE OZ

On a date with my lil northern Bee-Hummingbird she took me on a tour  of her OZ neighbourhood Surrey Hills, which just so happens to be a vintage lover’s paradise.

Crown Street in Surrey Hills is lined with great vintage shops such as Strawberry Fields, Sage Sydney and is home to the boutique synonymous with vintage OZ; Grandma Takes a Trip.

After a rummage through Grandma’s knick nacks and party dresses I came away with this gold plated collar necklace.

granny

peak

This necklace looks great when worn with a blouse with a high neckline or a simple T-ee.   But another way I like to wear it is under a shirt so you have an ickle flash of gold peeking through.  It creates a great subtle base layer for when I then start layering up necklaces.

peekaboo

If like me you like your vintage with a little less 60s Mod Dresses and 20s Clutch Bags and MORE Antique Brooches and  Art Deco Earring,  then when your in Sydney you must go to Tresors.

tresTresors is a little Vintage Jewellery Den located in the Strand Arcade in Sydney’s Central Business District.

tresorsI had so much fun with owner Jennifer and her team who took me through each nook and cranny of the shop which is stuffed full of vintage treasures.  While showing me antique brooches, layering me in vibrant coral beaded necklaces and disclosing the secrets of rings which are really pill boxes for naughty 1920s ladies I learnt about the history of some of the pieces and they educated me about Australian designer Dorothy Wagner who was making jewellery back in the 20s & 30s.

IMG_4630

Dorothy Wager Brooch

IMG_4656

beads

IMG_4650

pill box

Cheeky Little 1920s Pill Box Ring

In between unravelling  pearls and unclipping Weiss Rhinestone earrings the Tresors girls stopped to pose in some of their favourite pieces.

IMG_4641

tres 1

IMG_4649 - Version 2

1960s Coral Necklace & Urchin Clipon Earrings

Ladies of Tresors , Thank You so much for taking the time out to share your jewels with me.  I left in a very dizzy vintage spell.  Can’t wait for next time.

sign off vertwo

